Gallery

Kiwis in Oz – the harsh reality

SCCZEN_A_280313SPLGOLDCOAST_620x310We’re their unhappiest migrants … so the Aussies have created some new insults.

Kiwozi:  Been there, done that, got the T Shirt  ]

New Zealanders living across the Tasman have been labelled “South Sea Poms” and “carping Kiwis” after a survey showed they are Australia’s unhappiest migrants. Kiwis were the migrants most likely to be dissatisfied with their financial situation, were often discriminated against, didn’t feel safe and were extremely unlikely to view Australians as nice people, a study by Melbourne’s Monash University found.   More. . . .

One response to “Kiwis in Oz – the harsh reality

  1. Interesting article. Good point about the fact that once you move to Aussie as a Kiwi you’re almost expected to assume the Aussie identity. I am currently living in Canada and I feel incredibly proud of the fact that I come from New Zealand – here in Canada I am vocal about this and am constantly praised for my unique cultural identity. I did a short stint a few years ago living in the Gold Coast and was almost made to feel ashamed of the fact that I was from NZ. One of my coworkers even admitted to me that she was originally from NZ and had moved to Aus with her husband a few years back, but she made me promise not to tell anyone that she was secretly a Kiwi… that’s kinda messed up. This experience has put me off considering returning to Australia to live despite they do have better wages and seemed to have a better quality of life when I was working there.

Leave a Reply

