The Grand Classic 61ft Ketch – the ‘folly’ of buying a fixer-upper yacht with mates.

Having held many names over the years, the original name Southwinds was restored as the vessel itself was restored in New Zealand. The 1948 plans for Southwinds, including pencil sketches of her keel profile, lie in the British National Maritime Museum. Launched in 1950, Southwinds was one of the largest and fastest yachts to sail Sydney Harbour, and to this day remains a breathtaking sight. She has a rich history. Under the name Valhalla, she was one of the first yachts to be skippered around the world by a woman, has competed in the Sydney to Hobart, and has been owned at various times by notable Australians including John Hallas of Ella Bache — the sponsor of Jessica Watson’s solo circumnavigation of the Southern Hemisphere.
More . . . .

Author: kiwozikonnections

I am more fortunate than 500 million people in the world - I've never experienced the danger of battle, the loneliness of imprisonment, the agony of torture, or the pangs of starvation. I am richer than 75% of this world - I have food in my refrigerator, clothes on my back, a roof overhead and a place to sleep. I am among the top 8% of the world's wealthy - I have a little money in my wallet, and spare change in a dish someplace .

Leave a comment